Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am not a breakfast eater. Yeah – I know – most important meal of the blah, blah, blah. Seriously, people – I watch Oprah and Dr. Oz. I know. Thanks.

Let’s just summarize the whole thing and get it over with:

1.      If you eat breakfast, your blood sugar stays normal and you aren’t as hungry later on = less likely to pig out at other meals.

2.      Nourishment in the a.m. keeps you going strong at work and school.

3.      Children who eat a healthy breakfast do better in school (okay, this is a good one. I don’t want to starve anyone’s children).

I am sure there are even more responsible, educated reasons why we should eat breakfast, but I think we’re all officially bored with them. Breakfast – you and I are just not friends. (Unless I am on vacation and there is a breakfast buffet, because I love me some breakfast buffet! Belgian waffles, eggs Benedict, bacon, toast, Danish, fruit and granola – and that’s just the first plate! Okay, and actually, if I am traveling to a touristy destination [read: lots of walking around to see stuff] I do always need to have breakfast and a pack of peanut butter crackers/granola bar as a mid morning snack or hello crazy-town.)

For me personally, if I eat a lot in the morning, it throws me off for the rest of the day, especially if I am at work. I always feel like I am eating more in the afternoon, and more in the evening (okay yes, this could all be in my head).

Plus, I barely have enough time to walk the dog, make the coffee and scream at my significant other to “get out of the shower or I won’t have enough time to blow dry my hair”. Does anyone else live like this?

A compromise is in order. We want breakfasts that are less than 210 calories, fast, healthy, tasty enough that I will eat it and not complain that I am not eating a chocolate croissant, and possibly can be prepared the night before.

My Superior breakfast choices? Here they are; 0ne for each day of the week. Simple, satisfying selections for even the most elevated palate, portioned to curb even the most severe hunger pains at 10am.

Monday Breakfast:

Green apples (sliced the night before/sprinkled with lemon juice to keep them from browning). One stick of pre-portioned Cracker Barrel cheese. Total calories are right under 150/ 2 grams of fat/about 3 WW points (2 for the cheese and 1 for the apple).

Tuesday Breakfast:

Yogurt (Danon 60 calorie light and fit) – any flavor – and ¼ cup of Bear Naked Granola (Fit) (120 calories). You can even throw some fresh blueberries on top for some antioxidants. This can be made the night before; the granola touching the yogurt does soften, but I don’t mind that. It’s a personal choice. This whole breakfast is 180 calories/ about 3 grams of fat/ 3 WW points (2 for granola and almost 1 for yogurt).

Wednesday Breakfast:

Dunkin Donuts (because seriously – you’ve been so good for two days, you deserve a treat). One plain or whole wheat bagel (SKIP the multi-grain – trust moi!). 2oz. of light garden cream cheese (or light plain cream cheese) – so just the small package they give you. Calories: 420/ 12 grams of fat/9 WW points – not really worth it I am sorry to say. HOWEVER: if you share this breakfast with a starving co-worker or your significant other (half a bagel/half the cream cheese) it’s only 210 calories/6 grams of fat/ 4.5 WW points. And if you walk together during your morning break to go get it…hello exercise!

And a medium iced coffee, skim, two Splenda. Please.

Thursday Breakfast:

1 whole wheat English Muffin toasted/slice of tomato/slice of cheese (low-fat) – maybe 20 seconds in the microwave. Seriously – this is like 130 calories/1g fat/1.5 WW points. You can add an egg or egg beaters, but I totally dig the muffin with just tomato and cheese, all melty goodness.

Friday Breakfast:

2 slices of toasted low-fat whole wheat or multi-grain bread (I use WW bread), 1 tablespoon of fat-free cream cheese, 1 or 2 slices of smoked salmon. Calories about 180/6g of fat/3.5 WW points…really depends on how heavy you are with the cream cheese – lighten up! This sandwich has to be made fresh, but it takes literally 3.5 minutes in the morning and smoked salmon just feels superior to peanut butter, and has tons of protein and less fat!

Bon appetite! 

CHECK OUT EVEN MORE BREAKFAST OPTIONS: https://superiorhabitat.wordpress.com/2008/06/12/weight-watchers-breakfast-ideas-for-hungry-mornings/

 

