Tags

, , , , ,

A few days ago at work, I did something rather mean and rather un-superior of me. My company is broken up into different sections. A co-worker from another section was working with me the other day in a rare occurrence, and she had visibly lost a bit of weight. The previous year, this co-worker had easily dropped 40lbs, but I would say she had dropped another 30 and she looked fabulous. And yes, skinnier than moi! I was a little jealous –certainly. When her supervisor and I spoke, the supervisor mentioned to me, “Doesn’t B. look great? She’s lost a ton of weight by not eating bread or sugar!” I replied meanly, “She does look great, but why on earth would you stop eating bread or sugar – it’s not worth it. I’d rather be 10 pounds heavier than have to give up sugar!”
Now it doesn’t take a psychologist to figure out that I was extremely jealous that B. had lost so much weight. In fact, because I am trying to lose about 10 pounds to get to my “ideal” weight for the summer and B. lost 30 in a matter of a few months of her new diet I was feeling particularly cranky. So un-superior of me and so déclassé! I could feel the green-eyed monster take over and I felt pretty guilty after my tres unnecessary comments.

First, it’s none of my business what anyone else (save the significant other) eats. If someone wants to be a vegan, I am fine with that (although I think it’s odd to turn down crispy duck). If someone wants to never eat bread or sugar (so terribly odd to me) who am I to judge? I mean, let’s face it: I am still trying hard to lose just a mere 10lbs. Commenting on anyone’s weight, in particular co-workers, is very inappropriate either way. So commenting on food choice is equally uncouth – especially co-workers who continue to talk to me about sodium when I bring in a canned soup product for lunch. Like I can’t read the label. Sometimes a girl wants canned soup. I don’t know what to tell you.

So as way to make it up to B. (a.k.a. make myself feel better) I decided to research her “diet” and going to actually try to follow it and see if it works for me. So I went to the queen of all diets, Oprah, to see what she had to say.

First, Oprah and I sometimes don’t see eye to eye and I question if Oprah actually follows all the “advice” she dished out. I mean, yes, I love Oprah and I would love to be just like her (for $1 billion I would be like almost anyone). You can’t tell me Oprah doesn’t eat bread or sugar. No way.

Dr. OZ is another story…I try not to take advice from medical professional on TV (General Hospital is not real after all) but Dr. Oz is bizarrely addictive and makes you want to give up lamb, processed cereal and all croissants and go be vegan in VT.

“Dr. Oz and Dr. Roizen say there are five ingredients that should be banned from your diet forever.
The first ingredient to avoid is hydrogenated oil, which often masquerades as partially hydrogenated oil. Dr. Roizen says we should also eliminate sugar and high fructose corn syrup from our foods. Enriched flour is the fourth ingredient to avoid. The fifth offenders are white foods—including bleached flour.”

Now according to Dr. Oz, B. is right on track with her new healthy eating kick.

Oprah et al. also suggest that Breakfast is the most important meal of the day (which you TOTALLY didn’t know, right?). I made a list of some superior breakfast suggestions in a previous post that you might want to check out.

In the mean time, I am actually going to try this healthy eating kick and try very hard not to eat white foods…I will let you know how long I last.
 

 

From Dr. Oz:
The Quick Magical Breakfast Blaster
2 servings, 136 calories per serving

1 scoop (1/3 cup) Soy protein (like Nature’s Plus Spiru-Tein)
1/2 tablespoon flaxseed oil
1/4 cup frozen blueberries
1/2 large ripe banana (or other fruits of your choice)
1/2 tablespoon apple juice concentrate or honey
1 teaspoon Psyillium seed husks

Peel banana; break into chunks. Put all ingredients in a blender. Add 12 ounces of water and ice, as well as powdered vitamins. Cover, blend until fairly smooth.

 

 

 

