Tags

, , , , , , ,

Candace Bushnell is the author of the original book Sex and the City. I read it recently, in preparation for the big event. I can not wait for this movie to come out! I own the full set of SATC DVDs, watched religiously while the show was on, and I am a huge SJP fan. This past January I was at the Sundance Film Festival and no matter what kind of criticism she gets, Sarah Jessica Parker is beautiful in real life. She is petite, has gorgeous hair, and it extremely stylish. I actually think the camera does NOT do her justice. I saw her a lot that week – you have to trust me. So where the hell am I going this again?

Oh right, the book. Sucked. Sorry. I shouldn’t be surprised because I hate all of Candace Bushnell’s books to be honest. And I love chick lit! But Bushnell’s writing and story lines don’t really work for me. I just wasn’t interested in SATC in print.

The friends who read it with me (I mean, not literally WITH me, out loud or anything) all agreed. None of could really get into the story. Carrie was kind of stupid and selfish in the book. And annoying. Say what you want about SATC the TV show, but those characters were friends and genuinely cared about each other. Not so in the book.

So in the spirit of sisterhood and friendship, I am encouraging you all to forget the book, see the movie and have a drink on me!

The Bradshaw (as copied, verbatim, from people.com)

2 oz of Don Julio Blanco Tequila

½ oz X Rated Passion Fruit Liquor

¾ oz fresh squeezer Lime juice

¾ oz cane sugar simple syrup

Shaken, serve straight up in a martini glass rimmed in hot pink sugar, garnished with a lime wedge

