Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Movies are awesome. I love the popcorn, the soda, the snacks, the anticipation of waiting for the movie to start… and I really love the previews. LOVE them! Summer 2008 promises to be filled with awesome movies you have to check out (you may have heard of a few of these): Sex and the City, Indiana Jones, and Wanted. Dinner and a movie are great for date night, but also a random Monday when nothing good is on TV.

When I was a child – pretty young, maybe 5 or 6, my parents took us to the Wellfleet Drive-in Theatre on Cape Cod. We saw one of the Star Wars movies, and I can’t remember much except for my parents putting down the backseat of our wagon and my brothers and I snuggling up to lots of pillows and blankets. And of course, going to get the snacks at the snack bar. That’s right a Drive-in Theatre! Ever Been?

Built in 1957, the Wellfleet Drive-In is actually still around, still showing movies, and has been updated with modern screen and sound. How many people can say they have been to a drive-in movie? It’s awesome. Wellfleet Drive-in hosts a “100′ x 44′ screen, and a state-of-the-art FM stereo sound system that decodes modern sound tracks. Don’t have a radio? That’s OK! Mono original speakers are available for your listening pleasure. There’s a playground and snack bar too!” The drive-in is open from late April through early October.

Now obviously if you don’t already have plans to visit the Cape this summer you will have to find your own drive-in theatre near you. But today is the day to make plans. Why? In 1933, New Jersey opened the very first drive-in theater on June 5th. Now that’s something to celebrate.

Most theatres today have movie gift cards that you can purchase and give as gifts. You can even include the ridiculous popcorn and soda prices on the card (although I always sneak in my own regardless). I think a movie gift card is appropriate for lots of occasions, but especially for those you aren’t particularly close to. I have used them as a thank-you present when someone did me a favor, and also as a stocking stuffer. If you really wanted to go out of your way, a overnight stay on Cape Cod and a drive-in movie card would be superior.

For more information on the history of Drive-in Movie Theatres, check out this book!

