Tags

, , , , , ,

This past summer, I came across the NYT article on the effects of eating about 30% less calories each day than average. Okay, well that’s a highly simplified summary – check out the article. You don’t even have to read it, just check out the photos of these monkeys involved in the study and I think you’ll get the point. I hope I don’t have to explain which monkey is the one on a restricted diet.

Exactly.

Now, the NYT article is merely an introduction into restricted calorie diets, which I am not promoting. I have read about this movement, and like in all things, this whole idea runs the gamut from just generally eating less but eating healthier and natural foods to cults of people almost starving.

It just made me think.

It costs Americans $147 billion (yeah. I double checked. Billion.) a year in obesity related diseases. Our current First Lady, Michelle Obama, has made childhood obesity a personal cause recently, starting a “Let’s Move” campaign.  With the current economic climate, we hear a lot about not wasting money and resources – so these numbers are staggering. Essentially we spend a lot of money taking care of our fat, lazy selves. And it’s heartbreaking to think what we are doing to children.

So we should all lose some weight. Easy, right? Look at the monkeys. In fact, print out this photo and put it on your fridge. Because if that chubby, sad monkey doesn’t scare you into taking better care of yourself, nothing willJ

So, we’re trying. Last year it is estimated that American’s spent over $40 billion dollars on the diet industry. We spend a lot of money to limit calories. To cut back, to be less excessive. To eat less. But we’re trying right?

In the interest of full disclosure, I am a member of Weight Watchers Online. I like it a lot. I first joined at work with a friend in order to be supportive as she tried to lose 15 pounds for her wedding. We both lost 20lbsJ

Could I do WW without paying for it every month? Of course! Would I? Of course not! I pay to have access to their awesome online resources, recipes and for the motivation of other success stories. WW claims, rightfully so, that the support and stories of others is a huge part of losing weight and being healthy. So for me it’s worth it. But it is eye opening to think I am contributing to a $40 billion dollar industry every. Although comparatively speaking, better to contribute to a $40 billion weight lose industry then to $147 billion obesity care.

Why am I sharing this article? Living a fabulous, superior lifestyle can’t happen if you are not healthy. Being alive and well a key component to “living” of course. Being fabulous is certainly not being a size 2. But it is fabulous to fit in your pants and not worry that nothing in your closet fits.

I have been following Tina at Carrots N’ Cake and her Lose the Dough challenge. In light of her challenge, I am planning on posting more often my food and exercise choices. As a way to remind myself that superior living is completely pointless if you are not taking care of yourself.

Anyone else out there following the Lose the Dough Challenge? Working on eating better?

