Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Over a year and half ago I wrote about my early morning routine. Originally, I started this after reading about Leo’s morning routine on Zen Habits.

So many things have changed in a year and a half. And yet, lots of things are the same.

Many people have a hard time understanding this, but I love being awake early in the morning. I may not be the happiest right away in the morning, but I always feel better getting up and getting things done.

Why get up so early? Lots of reasons. Originally, I was pretty keen on changing my entire morning routine in general; starting my day on a pleasant note…or rather at the very least not cursing someone out, forgetting my lunch (if I even had time to make one), sunglasses or anything else. I was actually looking forward to a little a.m. alone time to just clear my thoughts and maybe get a head start on laundry. Currently, I am training for a marathon. So I make a huge effort to get my runs out of the way first thing in the morning.

It’s not easy getting up early in the morning. I personally get up between 5 and 5:30am (depends on my running schedule). And yes, I go to bed super early. Leo mentions a key point in his post. You have to train your body and your mind (maybe your mind more importantly) to be able to get up early in the morning. I would say anywhere from 2-4 weeks. And waking early on the weekends really helps keeps your body on track for getting up early.

There are huge benefits to getting up early. I do admit I get a bit of a rush thinking about how virtuous I am getting up early and accomplishing so much before work. If you like running outdoors, there is almost no one on the road. It’s fabulous! It’s actually quiet on the street. The people I do see running or walking nod hello as if we are part of a secret club of cool kids, which I admit, I enjoy.

If I run out doors, when I get back home it’s still so early I can take my shower in peace, start or finish a loaf of laundry, drink my coffee and eat breakfast. Then I still have time to get a few things done around the house, including making the bed and doing the few dishes in the sink.

Lately, due to weather in New England and my marathon training, my mornings begin at the gym. I try to be at the gym by 5:30 for a run and sometimes run/weightlifting depending on the day. I shower at my gym, which has amazing locker room facilities. Plus, my gym is located in a shopping complex with a major grocery store, coffee shop, bookstore, dry cleaners and drugstore – all open very early. It’s awesome. Often 8am has me

If for no other reason you get up early, just basking in the glow of the jealousy of others should be enough. It has to be said that it is a superior feeling when you are the one organized and on time, calmly waiting for your carpool buddy at 8am with your iced coffee, reading your magazine, knowing that you have already done the laundry, finished with a run, showered, done some grocery shopping and are set for the day!

