Tags

, , , , ,

I work in the city. Parking is difficult. Heck, parking is difficult everywhere in the world. Okay, it’s not like a serious disease, but come on it’s terribly, terribly frustrating when people park poorly (or like jerks).

Yesterday at work I had run out to my car to grab something and I saw two women pull into parking spaces. The two women, literally almost at the same time, parked so crookedly that together they ended up using the parking spot between them, in which case no one would be able to park in the middle spot.

Now, the parking lot, so very early in the morning, was pretty much empty. No one was was in a wheelchair and needing extra space, no baby carriages, etc.

Nope. What we have here is pure, unadulterated selfishness. Why do they care that in about an hour, the parking lot would be filled and someone would have to wait for a spot, because these jerks where to lazy and stupid to park correctly. Talk about inhospitable times.

I understand that really, it’s none of my business, but I am so offended by such blatant rudeness, that I stopped both of them and said “no.”

That’s right, “no”. Not today, not in my parking lot, no. I told them that if they didn’t immediately re-park there cars correctly and legally, in one single spot each, I would have them ticketed and towed right this second.

And they did – they went back and fixed their car. And you know what? A few minutes later another guy who had seen all this actually thanked me for caring enough to do something about it other than shrugging my shoulders and letting them get away with it.

The moral of this story is: sometimes you have to pretend that you own the parking garage to get things done correctly. And you know what? That’s okay.

In honor of my parking dictatorship skills I leave you with some of the funniest things I have read all day: http://www.happyplace.com/4134/worlds-most-entertaining-windshield-notes

 

